Jalapeno Andouille Sausage Shrimp & Grits

The internet was on the fritz this last week and I really enjoyed spending a day of my spring break waiting for Charter to come look at the modem between the hours of 12-3. So that’s why there’s a bit of a delay in posts. But fear not, no internet means more food. (This was technically Mondays dinner, but that’s when we were internet-less!)

Grits_Top

This super simple dish was inspired by my recent trip to The Shaved Duck. For some reason, I felt like skipping the BBQ mains and opting for the Shrimp and Grits. It probably had something to do with thefact we stood and waited for a combined 2.5 hours before dinner. (We were getting concert tickets right before waiting in the cramped and drafty bar area.) Either way, I hadn’t had grits before and wanted to give them a try. Now I know I just told you I had never had them before, but I knew something was wrong when I got it.

Yup. This bowl of grits was lumpy. Bleh.

So I set out to make a better one.

Grits_side

Shrimp are annoying you say? Well stayed tuned for an illustration of a useful little tip when it comes to deveining them, but enjoy the pictures for now!

Leave a Reply

