Pumpkin Cake with Brown Butter Glaze

I’m going to let you in on a little secret. Last year, I went to Costco and saw they were selling 3 packs of giant cans of pumpkin puree for $2! It was the end of the holiday season, so they were trying to get it off the floor (I mean, how much pumpkin does one need for everyday life?).

I bought 3 packs.

So you can see how I’m excited that it’s pumpkin season again. Now I can pull them out of the stockpile cabinet (it holds very large bags of chocolate chips, boxes of cereal, cans of beans etc.) and internally gloat when I walk past little cans of pumpkin puree on sale for $2 in the store.

Pumpkin Bundt Cake

Anyways, I made this cake for our friend, Charise’s, birthday. The cake is something I adapted a while ago and is on the sweeter side. I didn’t want to have too much icing to cake ratio so I opted to make it a bundt cake. (Plus layer cakes always go wrong for me somehow) This was also an excuse for me to use my newly purchased bundt pan!

This cake is very moist, thanks to the pumpkin, but is still pretty light. The brown butter maple glaze is a nice touch but it can get overwhelming if there’s too much. Last time I made it more like a frosting but everyone ended up scraping most of the frosting off.

Pumpkin Cake Ingredients

1 stick unsalted butter (room temperature)
1 1/2 cup caster sugar
2 large eggs
1 cup pumpkin puree
1/2 warm (110 F)  milk (I prefer whole)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 2/3 cups flour
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon ground allspice
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda

  1. Prehead oven to 350 F and move rack to the center position.
  2. Beat butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time until incorporated. Add pumpkin puree. Slowly pour in milk. Add vanilla.
  3. Sift dry ingredients together.
  4. Slowly incorporate dry ingredients into the wet. I usually do it in 4 batches to make sure the stand mixer doesn’t spew the flour everywhere.
  5. Grease the bundt pan. Pour batter into pan. Give the pan a good rap on the counter to make sure there are no air bubbles and that the batter gets into all those crevasses. (If your bundt pan is fancy and intricate, you might have to do this a couple times to ensure that the design comes out perfectly)
  6. Bake until a toothpick or knife comes out cleanly

Brown Butter Maple Glaze

3 tablespoons salted butter
1/4 cup maple syrup
3/4 cup confectioners sugar
splash of milk
salt to taste

  1. Melt butter in a sauce pan. Wait until the butter turns brown and toasty.
  2. Add in maple syrup and whisk.
  3. Add confectioners sugar and keep whisking!
  4. Add milk just so the glaze loosens up and you can easily pour it over the cake.
  5. The glaze will thicken as it cools so try to get it on the cake when it’s runny enough to pour, but thick enough to stick to the cake.
  6. Sprinkle chopped walnuts on top.

And if you’re in the market for a bundt pan, make sure you take a look at all the options! I recently flipped through the fall Williams & Sonoma cataloge and immediately regretted my traditional bundt pan purchase after seeing all the beautiful shapes and designs they make!  Here are just some of my favorites. But be careful, the fancier and more delicate the design, the more risk you take when taking the cake out. Just be sure to generous with the cooking spray or butter!

Bundt Cakes

Leave a Reply

